7Gruppenbild.gif The International Society for Extremophiles honors outstanding contributions to the field of research on extremophiles. Awards will be given to talented scientists who open up new frontiers in terms of basic and applied research. Eligible persons can be nominated by all ordinary members of the society and will be selected by a jury chaired by the ISE president. The award ceremony takes place during the biennial Extremophiles conferences.

ISE Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement 


Helena Santos, University of Lisbon, Portugal


   Mike Adams, University of Georgia, USA


LifetimeAntranikian.jpgGarabed Antranikian, Hamburg University of Technology, Germany


Lifetime.jpgKoki Horikoshi, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Japan
Mosé Rossi, Istituto di Biochimica delle Proteine, Naples, Italy

Poster Awards


Evgeny Frolov, Winogradsky Institute of Microbiology, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia
Yuka Takahashi, Graduate School of Life Sciences, Toyo University, Izumino, Itakura-machi, Oura-gun, Gunma, Japan
Maria Jose Leon, Department of Microbiology and Parasitology, Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Sevilla, Spain
Gideon de Jager, University of Pretoria, Pretoria, Republic of South Africa
Sigmar Stefansson, Matis ltd., Reykjavik, Iceland



Irene Sánchez Andrea, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain
Ralf Salzer, Winogradsky Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany
Jun Kawamoto, Kyoto University, Japan
Ingrid Waege, University of Regensburg, Germany
Felipe Sarmiento, The University of Georgia, USA

Maggie C.Y. Lau, The University of Hong Kong, PR China
Anna Perevalova, Winogradsky Institute of Microbiology Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
Ileana Pérez-Rodríguez, Rutgers University, USA
Leanne Timpson, University College Dublin, Ireland
Nadine Winkelmann, Hamburg University of Technology, Germany

ISE Grants

Diya Alsafadi, University College Dublin, Ireland
Maria Carmina Ferrara, Institute of Protein Biochemistry, Naples, Italy
Roberto González, University of Vigo, Spain
Leonardo H. Pinto, Rio de Janeiro Federal University, Brazil
Felipe Sarmiento, University of Georgia Athens, USA

Yuki Chan, Extremophiles Research Group, The University of Hong Kong, PR China
Kelly Kwan, California State University East Bay, USA
Lau Chui Maggie, School of Biological Sciences, The University of Hong Kong, PR China
Leanne Timpson, Centre for Synthesis and Chemical Biology, University College Dublin, Ireland
Andrey Mardanov, The Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia

Kirsten Beck, Department of Biochemistry II, University of Bayreuth, Germany
Takashi Endoh, Department of Synthetic Chemistry and Biological Chemistry, Japan
Marc T. Facciotti, Institute for Systems Biology, Seattle, Wa, USA

Bonnie Chaban, Queens University, Kingston, Canada
Tony Collins, University of Liège, Liège, Belgium
Luis Gonçalves, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Oeiras, Portugal
Matthew Johnson, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, USA
Thomas Niederberger, University of Waikato, Hamilton, New Zealand
Biagio Pucci, Institute of Protein Biochemistry, Naples, Italy

Sonja Albers, University of Groningen, Groningen, The Netherlands
Patrizia Contursi, Universita Federico II di Napoli, Naples, Italy
Tiago Faria, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Oeiras, Portugal
Masahiro Ito, Toyo University, Itakura-machi, Japan
Astrid Lingl, University of Munich, Munich, Germany